Jay Bhatt, MD
Executive Director, Deloitte Center for Health Solutions & Deloitte Health Equity Institute
Deloitte Services LP
Connect Online with this Speaker

Jay Bhatt, D.O., MPH, MPA is a physician executive, internist, geriatrician, and public health innovator. As Executive Director of the Deloitte Center for Health Solutions (DCHS) and the Deloitte Health Equity Institute (DHEI), Dr. Bhatt directs the research, insights, and eminence agenda across the life sciences and health care industry while driving high-impact collaborations to advance health equity. He is a prominent thought leader around the issues of health equity, health care transformation, public health, and innovation. Passionate about patient care, Dr. Bhatt will continue practicing medicine at local community health centers in Chicago and Cook County while serving in his leadership role at Deloitte.

Prior to joining Deloitte, Dr. Bhatt was senior vice president and chief medical officer at the American Hospital Association. While there, in addition to his enterprise role, he served as president of the Health Research and Educational Trust and helped lead the Institute for Diversity and Health Equity. His early work in health care involved practicing primary care at Erie Family Health Center, sitting on faculty at Northwestern Medicine, acting as chief health officer of the Illinois Health and Hospital Association, and serving as managing deputy commissioner and chief innovation officer for the Chicago Department of Public Health.

Dr. Bhatt earned a B.A. from the University of Chicago; Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.) from Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine; Master of Public Health from the University of Illinois at Chicago; and Master of Public Administration from the Harvard Kennedy School of Government as a Zuckerman and Commonwealth Fund Minority Health Policy Fellow. He is board certified in Internal Medicine and Geriatrics.

Dr. Bhatt's work has earned the attention of top media outlets seeking his expertise. He is a recipient of the Harvard Kennedy School Alumni Award, a Presidential Leadership Scholar, and an Aspen Institute Health Innovator Fellow.